You're blocking ads, which pay for BlenderNation. Read about other ways to support us.

Ed Catmull and Pat Hanrahan won the Turing Award


Computer graphics pioneers Ed Catmull and Pat Hanrahan have won the 2019 A.M. Turing Award, to be awarded on June 20, 2020.

Pat Hanrahan

Patrick M. Hanrahan

The Turing award, named after the famous computing pioneer and code-cracker Alan Turing, is often referred to as the Nobel Prize of Computing, and comes with a $ 1 million prize.

Ed Catmull

Edwin E. Catmull

Both computer graphics scientists pushed 3D graphics to important new levels in the pioneering days of 3D CG, together with fellow CG pioneers like Bui Tuong Phong (known for the famous Phong shader model), and Robert McDermott.

Ed Catmull and Pat Hanrahan were also the founding creators of Pixar's renowned Renderman renderer. Just about every 3D artist has used at least something that Ed Catmull created, such as the sharp Catmull-Rom antialiasing filter, which he developed together with Raphael Rom, or the polygon subdivision algorithm that Ed Catmull created in cooperation with Jim Clark, and which is used in Blender's subdivision modifier.

About the Author

Metin Seven

Dutch illustrator and 3D designer ( ). Former Blender Technical Artist, news cartoonist, comic creator, TV show animator, magazine editor and 16-bit game developer.


Leave A Reply

To add a profile picture to your message, register your email address with To protect your email address, create an account on BlenderNation and log in when posting a message.