You're blocking ads, which pay for BlenderNation. Read about other ways to support us.

Restoring Custom Defaults - Quick Tip

9

Jonathan Lampel writes:

Forget to click that little button when updating? Don't lose your layouts, add-ons, and themes!

For Mac and Linux users, you can follow the instructions here.

Want to use my personal defaults? They're all yours.

9 Comments

  1. Brian Lockett on

    If only during initial set-up, the Blender installer would ask you, "Would you like to transfer your User Preferences and Startup from the previous Blender?"

    Would be nice. *Wink wink*

  2. Actually, it is probably safer to delete the whole folder for the new version and restart Blender.

    In that case it will ask you again if you wanna convert from the previous settings. The difference is, that there can be actual CONVERSIONS in settings. If you just copy the old files, it can be fine, but some settings can be wrong or at least conversions can be done every time you run Blender.

  3. And how can you keep your custom defaults on a recently formatted drive? Is there a way to zip the settings so that Blender can carry them onto a new fresh installation?

      • Just as advice for everyone else, if you install Blender on a recently reinstalled Windows, the Roaming data for the folder Blender Foundation is not yet there. You need to load the recently installed Blender, make it to save a startup file and the default preferences and then you can replace the two files within the Roaming folder with your previous settings. Is what I needed to do to keep my old setups upon upgrading to Windows 10 on a different SSD that was previously formatted.

Leave A Reply

To add a profile picture to your message, register your email address with Gravatar.com. To protect your email address, create an account on BlenderNation and log in when posting a message.